WELCOME to the UBC website

Union of the Baltic Cities (UBC) is the leading network of cities in the Baltic Sea Region with Member Cities from Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, and Sweden. Founded in 1991 in Gdańsk, UBC is a voluntary, proactive network mobilizing the shared potential of its member cities.

UBC works through eight Commissions: Cultural Cities, Inclusive and Healthy Cities, Learning Cities, Planning Cities, Safe Cities, Smart and Prospering Cities, Sustainable Cities, and Youthful Cities.

The aims of the UBC are to:

  • Promote cooperation and exchange of experiences between cities in the BSR to advance and deliver sustainable urban solutions and quality of life, and so to bring added value for them;
  • Promote cities as drivers for smart, sustainable, green and resource-efficient growth;
  • Advance cities as inclusive, diverse, creative, democratic and safe hubs, where active citizenship, gender equality and participatory policy making are promoted;
  • Advocate for common interests of cities and their citizens, act on their behalf and further the interests of the BSR.

The UBC and its Member Cities work in close cooperation with other partners and participate actively for the implementation of regional strategies, notably the European Union Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region EUSBSR.